N

JIN

smoke free

Smoke-Free Housing:

Going smoke free in your mult-unit
buildings is one of the best moves you
can make, both financially and for the
health of your tenants.

Smoke-Free Policies
Reduce Operating Costs

e The cost of preparing an apartment
for a new tenant can be two to seven
times greater for a smoked-in unit,
than for one where smoking was not
allowed.

e Some insurance companies offer
discounts on property casualty
insurance for multi-unit owners with
a 100 percent smoke-free policy. Ask
your carrier today!
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A Rhode Island Landlord’s Guide

e Smoking is a leading cause of resi-
dential fire and the number one cause
of fire deaths in the United States.

Tenants Prefer Smoke-Free
Housing

e Surveys from Maine, Washington
and Oregon show that as many as 78
percent of tenants, including smokers,
would choose to live in a smoke-free
complex.

e Secondhand smoke complaints drop
after adoption of a smoke-free policy.
Nationwide, less than 21 percent of
the general population smokes, so it
makes sense that a larger number of
tenants want to live in a smoke-free
environment.
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Secondhand

Smoke:
What You Should Know

Rhode Island smoke-free

workplace laws protect workers from
secondhand smoke exposure, but
there are no laws to protect people
from secondhand smoke where they
live.

Secondhand smoke drifts from
smokers’ apartments forcing other
residents to breathe it.

Smoke-free apartment policies are
quickly becoming the standard for
multi-unit housing in the United
States. Adopting a smoke-free policy
is easy and can help you save money,
reduce tenant complaints, improve the
health of your tenants, reduce mainte-
nance costs and increase your market
share.
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Smoke-Free Housing:

A Rhode Island Landlords Guide...continued

Tenant Health Improves
with Smoke-Free
Housing

e There is no safe level of exposure
to secondhand smoke. The Envi-
ronmental Protection Agency lists
secondhand smoke as a Class A
Carcinogen, the most toxic class of
chemicals that are known to cause
cancer in humans. Secondhand
smoke is a leading trigger of asthma
attacks and other breathing prob-
lems and a known cause of Sudden
Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS).

o Secondhand smoke is classified as
a “toxic air contaminant,” making
it simlar in danger to asbestos, lead,
vehicle exhaust and a host of other
chemicals.

« Ventilation systems do not protect
families from secondhand smoke.
Most air filter systems are designed

to remove odors, not the toxic parti-
cles from tobacco smoke. According
to the American Society of Heating,
Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning
Engineers (ASHRAE), “At present,
the only means of effectively elimi-
nating health risk associated with
indoor exposure is to ban smoking”

Some insurance
companies offer discounts
on property casualty
insurance for multi-unit
owners with a 100 percent
smoke-free policy.

e Smoke does not stay in one place.
Research shows that up to 65 per-
cent of the air in a building travels
between apartments, exposing ten-
ants in other units to any second-
hand smoke that may exist.

Policies are
Self Enforcing

e Smoke-free policies are largely
self-enforcing. Because tenants tend
to prefer a smoke-free environment,
they will abide by the policy. Guard-
ian Management, a group manag-
ing over 12,000 smoke-free units
nationwide, recently released survey
results showing that more than
three-quarters of their residents are
“happy” with the smoke-free policy.

The Monetary Impact

e Costs to fix up a unit where smok-
ing is prohibited are dramatically
lower than those of a unit where
smoking is allowed. The chart on
the next page shows just how much
you can save by adopting a smoke-
free policy.
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Smoke-Free Housing:
A Rhode Island Landlords Guide...continued

The Monetary Impact

Costs to Rehabilitate a Unit Where Smoking is Prohibited vs. a Unit Where Smoking is Allowed

Non-Smoking Light Smoking Heavy Smoking

General Cleaning $240 S500 $720
Paint 5170 5225 $480
Flooring $50 $950 $1,425
Appliances $60 575 $490
Bathroom 540 S60 $400

TOTAL $560 51,810 53,515

Data reflects surveys from housing authorities and subsidized housing facilities in New England. -
Collected and reported by Smoke-Free Housing New England, 2009.

Existing Laws Allow for adequate notice (30 days or more) of ~ Advertise as Smoke Free
Smoke-Free Housing a lease change and that HUD and/or
your local housing authority approve e Include “smoke free” in all
e There are no federal, state or of any changes to the model lease. advertisements for your vacant units.
local laws that prohibit a landlord, Smoke-free policies are no different
housing authority or condominium For New Buildings Start than the inclusion of heat or hot
association from adopting a 100 Fresh water.
percent smoke-free policy. You can
make your entire property smoke e The easiest way to implement e Approximately 75 percent of
free, including all apartment units a smoke-free policy is to make tenants want to live in a smoke-
and outdoor spaces. buildings 100 percent smoke free free environment. By including a
as you develop them. When new notice that your building is smoke
e Smoking is not a legal right. tenants sign a lease, be clear about free, you can attract more attention
Smoke-free policies do not infringe the policy in your contract. You'll to your listing. Inform potential
on the legal rights of others. find a sample lease included in the tenants of your smoke-free policy on
“Proud to be Smoke Free” landlord all housing applications. This will
e Smokers are not a protected tool kit. ensure that all incoming tenants are
class under any state or federal law. aware of the rules before they move
Smoke-free policies are like any Mo dlfy Leases in to your building. Also, post signs
other lease provision, such as trash to remind existing tenants, incoming
disposal or pet restrictions, and can e When adopting a smoke-free guests and maintenance workers of
be adopted and enforced as any other  policy, include a lease provision or the policy.
lease policy. addendum that outlines the policy.
When tenants renew the lease, have
e Both public and private facilities them initial that they have read and
have the right to adopt smoke-free understand the policy. You'll find a
policies. If you are a public housing sample lease addendum as part of the
authority or owner of a subsidized “Proud to be Smoke Free” landlord
facility, ensure your tenants receive toolkit.
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Smoke-Free Housing:
A Rhode Island Landlord's Guide...continued

For Existing Structures
with Tenants

e Build tenant support. When you're
not sure how tenants feel about a
smoke-free policy and you want
their input, a brief survey might be in
order. Asking questions such as, “Has
secondhand smoke from another unit
ever bothered you?” or “If available,
would you prefer to live in a smoke-
free environment?,” is a great way to
involve tenants in the process. You’ll
find a sample survey included in the

“Proud to be Smoke Free” landlord
toolkit.

e Communicate widely. The success
of your smoke-free policy depends
on how well you inform your tenants.
Including articles in your tenant
newsletter, holding tenant meetings
so opinions can be voiced, sending

a letter to tenants, posting signs,

and supplying information on the

harmful effects of secondhand smoke
will all help with policy enforcement
down the road.

e Offer support. Your “Proud to be
Smoke Free” landlord toolkit includes
a Rhode Island smoking cessation
resource guide so that tenants who
are ready to quit smoking can get the
help they need. Providing renters
with this information is a way to show
that you care about their well being.
Call 1-800-QUITNOW or visit www.
quitnowri.com for more information.

¢ Give plenty of notice. Notifying
residents about your policy well in
advance, isn’t only a good idea, it’s
the law. Neglecting to tell both your
new and old residents about your
smoking policy is a breach of the
duty to provide notice. You may
only be required to give 30 days
notice per your lease agreement
when implementing a smoke-free

policy, but it is recommended that
you provide at least 90 days advance
warning. This extra time will give
those who smoke a chance to adjust
their lifestyle to the new policy.
Notifications should include the same
wording used in the lease.
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Smoke-Free Housing:
A Rhode Island Landlords Guide...continued

e Consider your options. There are
many things to consider with a new
policy. Will you ban smoking on the
entire property grounds, 25 feet from
doorways/ entrances/windows or only
in the building? If you allow smok-

ing on the grounds, where will those
tenants go to smoke? Will you provide
a space? What about patios and balco-
nies? Talking with staff, administrators,
and tenants can sometimes be helpful
when deciding which options are best
for the building.
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All Buildings

¢ Consider implications for workers
and guests. Remember, smoke-free
policies not only impact residents,

but their guests and your employees.
When you adopt a smoke-free policy,
make it clear that all guests, mainte-
nance workers, and staff are prohibited
from smoking as well.
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Resources

For more detailed information about
how to implement a smoke-free policy
in your new or existing development,
visit any of the below websites.

 Smoke-Free Housing New England
www.smokefreehousingne.org

« Michigan Smoke-Free Apartments
www.mismokefreeapartments.org

o Smoke-Free Housing
Coalition of Maine
www.smokefreeforme.org

» Minnesota Smoke-Free Housing
www.mnsmokefreehousing.org

« Tobacco Technical Assistance
Consortium

www.ttac.org

« Smoke-Free Apartments Registry
www.smokefreeapartments.org

o Technical Assistance Legal Center
www.phlpnet.org/talcgies, LLC
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