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In a 2009 survey prepared by The 
Massachusetts Smoke-Free Housing 
Project Public Health Advocacy 
Institute, Northeastern University 
School of Law,  99 percent of 
Massachusetts landlords who had 
a smoke-free rule felt it was a good 
decision.

According to the same survey, going 
smoke free can:

1.  Attract more tenants.  Sixty-seven 
percent of residents would prefer 
smoking information in a property 
listing, while 80 percent of residents 
are immediately less interested in a 
unit if they smell smoke when viewing 
the property.

2.  Save money by reducing the need 
for repairs between tenants. Sixty-
five percent of landlords reported 
paying $100 or more per apartment in 
smoking-related repairs.  Thirty-three 
percent paid $500 more. 

3.  Eliminate the leading cause of 
residential fire deaths. Every year, fires, 
caused by cigarettes result in $400 
million in damages.

4.  Reduce conflict among tenants. 
Thirty-nine percent of Massachusetts 
landlords who had a smoke-free rule 
found that it lowered disputes between 
tenants.

5.  Reduce potential legal liability. 
Under Rhode Island’s Residential 
Landlord and Tenant Act, landlords 
must keep the premises “in a fit and 
habitable condition.”  Residents in 
other states have won lawsuits based 
on exposure to secondhand smoke.

6.  Potentially reduce your insurance 
premiums.  Some insurance 
companies may offer landlords 
discounts on general liability insurance 
premiums if they implement a no-
smoking rule.  No-smoking rules 
reduce the risk of fires, injury, and 
death.  Ask your broker.
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